User consent

Users must provide consent before your bot (LINE@ account or official account) can be added as a friend and access user profile information which includes a display name, profile image, status message, and user ID. Users give consent to bot applications by agreeing to the Official Accounts Terms of Use.

Users using LINE version 7.4.x or earlier

Users who are using LINE 7.4.x or earlier must agree to a consent screen for every bot that they add as a friend or invite to a chat. By default, the consent screen asks for the user’s permission to get the user’s profile information (display name, profile image, status message, and user ID).

User consent screen for bot

Data returned in group chats

Unlike users who have agreed to the Official Accounts Terms of Use, when a user using LINE version 7.4.x or earlier sends your bot a message in a group chat (group or room), the user ID is not returned in the source object of the webhook event.

The following is an example of a source object (group) sent for a user who is using LINE 7.4.x or earlier.

{
  "source": {
    "type": "group",
    "groupId": "Ca56f94637c..."
  },
}

The following is an example of a source object (group) sent for a user who is using LINE version 7.5.0 or later and has agreed to the Official Accounts Terms of Use.

{
  "source": {
    "type": "group",
    "groupId": "Ca56f94637c...",
    "userId": "U4af4980629..."
  },
}

For more information, see source group and source room.