Joining groups and rooms

Note: Business Connect is only available for enterprise users (LINE partners). For more information on becoming a partner, please submit an inquiry or a proposal at the LINE Partner website.

Official accounts using Business Connect can now join groups and rooms in LINE. This page explains what groups and rooms are and how you can use them with Business Connect.

Room

A room is a LINE chat room with more than 2 LINE users. Users can freely add other users to the room.

Available functions Receiving operations of joining a room
Receiving messages
Sending messages
Unsupported Functions Sending link messages
Sending multiple messages
Sending rich messages

Group

A group is a LINE chat that is created by a LINE user. A group can be created with just one LINE user. The LINE user can specify the name of the group and can invite other users to join the group. To join the group, other users must accept the user’s invitation.

Available functions Receiving operations of joining a group
Receiving messages
Sending messages
Sending link messages
Unsupported functions Sending multiple messages
Sending rich messages

Joining a group or a room

With the “join group/room” function enabled, your official account will automatically join groups or rooms when invited. For groups, an operation request is sent to your Business Connect server when invited. For rooms, an operation request is sent at the time of the first event (such as when a message is sent or a user is invited to the room) after joining the room.

There can only be 1 BOT in a room or group. If a BOT is invited to a room or group which already has a BOT, either both BOTs will leave the room/group or one of the BOTs will remain in the room/group

Contact your LINE Business Connect representative to enable this function.

Sending messages

For information on sending messages, go to Sending messages.

Make sure to set the correct “toType” property (2=room, 3=group) when sending messages to a group or a room. Note that messages are displayed to all participants in that room or group.

Leaving a group or a room

Your official account leaves groups or rooms using the APIs as shown in Leaving a group or room in the API reference.

Provide the user with a keyword which the user can type in the chat to make your official account leave the chat room.